Mountain Echoes

four studies for solo horn


for William Kearns

c. 4.5 minutes

Available for purchase at Subito Music Distribution.

Composer notes: While working on my master’s degree in horn performance with William Kearns at the University of Colorado (1966-68), I wrote several short, virtuosic pieces for solo horn. I did this for fun and to challenge myself as a performer. I composed a few more of these the following year for a total of 21.

Unfortunately, the manuscript book containing the inked copies of these pieces was among a number of works that were lost in shipping during a move. In 2017 I located an early manuscript book that contained pencil sketches for a few of these pieces, and I picked four of them to rework and publish.