for violin and piano

1975, rev. 2013

5 minutes

Premiere: Doris Hansen, violin; Joan Purswell, piano
Newcomb College, New Orleans
April 5, 1976

Available for purchase at Subito Music Distribution.

(This audio demo of the revised 2013 version was made using sampled instruments from the Vienna Symphony Library).

Composer Notes: The Dialogue in this work is intense. The music alternates between non-metric atonal sections, and pulse-driven tonal sections. The harmonies throughout the piece use some of the same intervals, and the tonal sections are chromatic and dissonant. Nonetheless, the pulse-driven sections center on G, and the dialogue ends in fierce agreement.