Now It Is Autumn

for mezzo soprano, baritone, chorus, and orchestra


25 minutes

Poetry: D. H. Lawrence

[Withdrawn, not available for performance]

Composer Notes: This work was a setting of D. H. Lawrence’s final poem, “The Ship of Death.” In the decade after I composed it, my personal worldview shifted dramatically, and I lost interest in Lawrence’s poem. So I consequently withdrew this work. However, I continued to love some of the musical materials, and I used some of them in later orchestral works.